Piano Village – Elena Kats-Chernin

Elena Kats-Chernin has been writing piano music since she was a little girl. In Piano Village, a mixed collection of pieces of up to five minutes. There are works from intermediate level to advanced, ranging in mood, theme and texture with the warmth, energy and vivacity that her fans will have come to expect. Some titles like Autumn, Blue Tears and Zerno are more reflective, Russian Toccata and Dance of the Paper Umbrellas verge on the virtuosic, then there are works like Black Tie, Slicked Back Tango and Cocktail Rag which are best described as party pieces. The collection also includes Eliza Aria and Russian Rag, two of Elena’s greatest hits. In compiling this book, I have paid close attention to the interpretations of the composer herself, and have tried to give a detailed guide to dynamics, phrasing and articulation. Tempos are suggestions only and often include a broad range to cater for taste and ability. Pedal is to be used at the discretion of the performer. I have included some specific markings where necessary.

“I’ve always loved the piano. Growing up, I spent most of my time playing and improvising on my piano, a practice that I continue to this day. Many of the pieces I have written document moments I’ve had or people that I have met. My piano works are sometimes a little like diary entries for me. Many of them were written in a single day – Elena”

As with all Kats-Chernin’s music, these piano pieces are marked with her distinct sense of rhythm and harmony, originality and fun. All are suitable for public performance and will repay careful study and practice. The following book contains twenty-five different works guaranteed to entertain, disarm and amuse. I wish you hours of pleasure as you begin this journey into the ‘Piano Village‘. Start now!”

Piano Village – Elena Kats-Chernin

Piano Village
Piano Village – Elena Kats-Chernin

Available from all good music retailers. Please Click here for more


Butterflying – Piano Music by Elena Kats-Chernin

Brand new release from ABC Classics, featuring many of the pieces in Piano Village

Butterflying – ABC CLASSICS

Click here for more information

Melbourne Recital Centre

Elena Kats-Chernin & Tamara-Anna Cislowska
Butterflying – The Music of Elena Kats-Chernin



Friday 1 July 2016 6pm

A thrilling, unique experience of creation, expression and adventure

Don’t miss out! Book now


0 replies on “Piano Village – Elena Kats-Chernin”